Vinets värld

Hälsa på oss



The appellation areas include the territories of a dream-like list of nine villages or towns. The first is Saint-Émilion, which has been the epicentre of the winegrowing area since the monks arrived in the 8th century. The villages of Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes,Saint-Etienne-de-Lisse, Saint-Hippolyte, Saint-Laurent-des-Combes, Saint-Pey-d’Armens, Saint-Sulpice-de-Faleyrens and Vignonet complete the picture with parts of the town of Libourne.




The statue of Louis XIV on horseback majestically overlooks the Courtyard of Honour at Château de Versailles. He was the king who paid tribute to our wines, declaring, “Saint-Émilion, nectar of the gods”. Saint-Émilion wines owe their popularity to their outstanding terroirs and because they meet very demanding requirements which enables them to reach exceptional levels of quality.

In fact, this energy and innovation are intimately linked to the life and history of this ancestral winegrowing place, because here in 1884, the first winegrowers’ union in France was founded.    In 1936, the “Saint- Émilion” AOC was officially recognised. In 1954 came three more: Saint- Émilion Grand Cru, Saint- Émilion Grand Cru Classé and Saint- Émilion Premier Grand Cru Classé.

Before that in 1948, the first wine quality inspection by tasting was introduced, which two years later in 1950 led to a classification of the wines in the appellation area. In 1952, a set of classification rules was drafted in agreement with the French National Institute of Appellations (INAO). And the classification was ratified in 1955. 

What makes this classification powerful and so original is that it is revised every 10 years. It effectively stimulates all Saint- Émilion winegrowers to seek the best possible quality in their wines. The 2012 classification was the sixth since the first in 1955. After ten months of painstaking work, it listed 82 properties, including 64 Grands Crus Classés and 18 Premiers Grands Crus Classés.






In alphabetic order


Château Angélus (A)                         Château Ausone (A)                       Château Beau-Séjour Bécot

Château Beauséjour (Héritiers Duffau-Lagarrosse)                                Château Bélair-Monange

Château Canon                                  Château Canon la Gaffelière          Château Cheval Blanc (A)

Clos Fourtet                                       Château Figeac                               Château la Gaffelière

La Mondotte                                       Château Larcis Ducasse                 Château Pavie (A)

Château Pavie Macquin                    Château Trolong Mondot                 Château Trottevieille

Château Valandraud



In alphabetic order


Château Balestard la Tonnelle          Château Barde-Haut          Château Bellefont Belcier

Château Bellevue                              Château Berliquet               Château Cadet-Bon

Château Capdemourlin                     Château Chauvin                 Château Clos de Sarpe

Château Corbin                                 Château Côte de Baleau      Château Dassault

Château Destieux                              Château Faugères               Château Faurie de Souchard

Château Fleur Cardinale                   Château Fombrauge            Château Fonplégade

Château Fonroque                            Château Franc Mayne          Château Grand Corbin

Château Grand Corbin-Despagne    Château Grand Mayne         Château Grand-Pontet

Château Guadet                               Château Haut-Sarpe            Château Jean Faure

Château La Fleur Morange              Château Laniote                   Château Larmande

Château Laroque                             Château Laroze                     Château Le Prieuré

Château Monbousquet                    Château Moulin du Cadet     Château Pavie Decesse

Château Peby Faugères                  Château Petit Faurie de Soutard

Château Quinault l'Enclos               Château Ripeau                    Château Rochebelle

Château Saint-Georges-Cote-Pavie                                              Château Sansonnet

Château Soutard                                                                           Château Tertre Daugay

Château Villemaurine                     Château Yon-Figeac              Château de Ferrand

Château de Pressac                        Château l'Arrosée                  Château la Clotte

Château la Commanderie               Château la Couspaude           Château la Dominique

Château la Marzelle                        Château la Serre                    Château la Tour Figeac

Château le Chatelet                                                                       Château les Grandes Murailles

Clos Saint-Martin                            Clos de l'Oratoire                  Clos des Jacobins

Clos la Madeleine                            Couvent des Jacobins